Traystambh – Ahara, Nidra & Bramhcharya- Supporting Pillars in Ayurveda

    Spread the love

    The Ayurvedic ancient text Charka Samhita defines an analogous between the human body and a building. Any building requires pillars for its support. The Sanskrit call for a pillar is Sthambha. Ayurveda states that for the good care of health one desires to have three Sthambhas (i.e. pillars), as well as three Upasthambhas (supporting pillars), functioning perfectly. The word Trayopastambha is a derivative of two terms Traya and Upasthambha. Traya means three and the name Upastambha means supporting pillars. The three Sthambha are the three Dosha Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. The three Upastanbha are Aahaara (Food), Nidra (Sleep) and Bhramacharya (Celibacy) i.e. regulated sexual conduct.

    Proper food restores the Bhautika constituents, sleep is essential to relieve the mind and sensory-motor apparatus and observance of celibacy or moderation in sex is effective for spiritual wellbeing. For maintaining health, people should be familiar with all kind of food, how to eat food, and what to eat. Though sleep is a second pole of triads, it also retain high attention because anxiety and strenuous life is usually correlated with lessened sleep and insomnia. Brahmacharya which means Shukra Raksha is also essential for internal strength.

    As per Classical Ayurvedic reference, there are three poles for balanced healthier life in Ayurveda.

    1) Ahara (Food)

    2) Nidra (Sleep) and

    3) Brahmacharya (Shukra raksha and happiness).

    Food ( Ahara)


    Ahara– Balanced diet and is the initial and foremost pillar of Ayurveda. What does a balanced diet mean? A balanced diet is one which affords humans with a needed supply of proteins, carbohydrate, vitamins, and fats. Ahara is fundamentally preventive in nature. Ayurveda provides the initial approach that can be useful in the creation and maintenance of ideal health and to ease the symptoms of illness.

    Classification of Ahara Charak has classified food particles as per the way of intake.

    • According to the way of intake
    1. Pan (drinkables)
    2. Bhojya (eatables)
    3. Bhakshya (chewable)
    4. Lehya (lickable)
    • As per Ayurveda there are 8 basic considerations which should be followed during consuming any kind of food,
    1. Nature
    2. Preparation
    3. Combination
    4. Quantity
    5. Habitat
    6. Time of eating
    7. Dietary Rules
    8. Condition of the person eating food.

    Sleep (Swapna or Nidra)


    Sleeping for great times or sleeping late in morning imbalances the regular routine and gets a poor impact on health. Insomnia (absence of proper sleep) leads to lethargy, burning sensation in the eyes, headache, and body ache. Sleep means when the mind and sense organs get fatigued, then sense organs cannot conjugate with their objects and this exhaust of mind and sense organs leads to sleep. Elevation of Tamas quality and fatigue induced sleep. Heart and brain is the seat of the mind. Satva, Rajas, and Tamas are the qualities of mind. Tamas quality induces sleep while Satva guna is effective for awakening stage.

    Types of sleep

    There are 6 types of sleep, which are

    1) Due to excess of Tamas quality

    2) Due to excess of Kapha dosha

    3) Due to mental and physical fatigue

    4) Occurring due to other reasons like sedatives consumptions, alcohol etc.

    5) Due to the diseases like hypothyroidism, anaemia etc

    6) Occurring at night due to excess of Tamoguna

    The normally occurring sleep at night is nourishing and refreshing and hence it is called as Bhutadhatri.

    Brahmacharya (Abstinence)


    Here the word Brahmcharya stands for Shukra Raksha. Excellent quality of last digestive product of food is called Shukra.

    Brahmacharya, one of the three pillars of Ayurveda. In Sanskrit language, Brahmacharya means movement in a great-awareness. In Brahmacharyashram – ‘Brahmacharya’ means dedication towards gaining education. This knowledge or education that is needed to attain eventual means, as there is: business, a job, trade etc., requires to be maintained during this period, therefore here abstinence from any other distractions is described as Brahmacharya.

    Ahara, Nidra and Brahmacharya involve physical, mental, ethical, social and spiritual well-being. Ayurveda principle of “Ati Sarvatra Varjayet” where Ati means excess in any situation in life whether it is Ahara, Nidra and Brahmacharya. All of this indicates on the improved functioning of the three triads.

    By the practice of these three sub pillars, strength, longevity, vigour, wealth, knowledge, undying fame, virtues and devotion to the truth, spirituality increase. Ayurveda presents a complete and integral knowledge about the effect of food on our physical and mental functioning. This help you to understand the essentials of Ayurvedic dietetics including selection of food bestowing to the constitution (Prakriti). Sleep is an essential function of the body. Ayurveda states that a happy sleep maintains a healthy body, strength, virility, sharpened senses and long life.

    The best remedy right now is to follow some useful health tips and keep yourself informed with the right news. When things around all of us are so uncertain, don’t be afraid to ask help. If you need any assistance, you can always consult an online Ayurvedic Doctor at Total Ayurvedic Care

    Disclaimer: The information in this article is presented for the sole purpose of education on Ayurveda and neither the details in this blog nor the products are intended to diagnose, cure, prevent. Treat, or mitigate any condition. If you have a medical condition, please consult a doctor or health professional. Total Ayurveda Care strongly recommends that you speak with your doctor before making any changes to your diet through which your health will be benefited.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.